Skip to main content

Amelia Islander

Chamber Honors Local Businesses

Jan 18, 2013 02:00AM
Hundreds of Amelia Island-Fernandina Beach-Yulee Chamber of Commerce members and community leaders turned out to celebrate excellence by the local business community in 2012 during the Chamber’s Annual Awards Dinner Friday, January 11, at the Omni Amelia Island Plantation. “The Annual Awards Dinner is a time for the Chamber to come together and not only look back at the accomplishments of the previous year, but also generate enthusiasm for the year ahead,” said Chamber Board of Directors Chairwoman Pamela Brown of Edward Jones Investments. The event was sponsored by The Brumos Companies, Jet Blue, Silver Airways, Krystal Klean and the Omni Amelia Island Plantation.

Nominations for the Businesses of the Year, Customer Service Professional, and Business Leaders awards were made by Chamber members and staff as well as members of the public. Nominees must be members of the AIFBY Chamber. Winners were selected by their peers who made up the Ad Hoc Award Selection Committee. The Annual Awards Dinner also included the presentation of awards honoring Chamber volunteers for their work on behalf of the organization.

The 2012 Amelia Island-Fernandina Beach-Yulee Chamber of Commerce Award recipients are:

Ambassador of the Year, Janie Thomas, Shrimp Producers Association

Chairman’s Award, Tony Baia, Amelia Island Graphics

Dr. Harry Halley Bowtie Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service, Terry Norstrud, Pet Care Center of Nassau

Customer Service Professional of the Year, Noelle Perry, The Hurst Company, CPAs, PA

Large Business of the Year (25 employees or more), Florida Public Utilities

Medium Business of the Year (11-24 employees), Science First

Small Business of the Year (10 employees or fewer), A1A Wealth Management

Green Business of the Year , Publix Fernandina Beach/Publix Yulee

Young Business Leader of the Year, Aaron Bell, Science First

Business Leader of the Year, Sean McGill, McGill Aviation

Donald J. Hughes, executive director of the Florida State College at Jacksonville Betty P. Cook Nassau Center, served as master of ceremonies for the Annual Awards. Jet Blue, Silver Airways and Krystal Klean donated raffle prizes given away at the Annual Awards Dinner. B&B Graphic Designs created the award plaques. Mead’s Framery & Trophy Store created the Outgoing Director plaques. Additional support was provided by Elizabeth Wilkes Photography, AVT Event Technologies and the Jacksonville Aviation Authority.